Tuesday, August 28, 2012

No Coke! Pepsi!--Ah, but No Pepsi either!

I gave up pop/soda - again. I am always amazed how I can give it up and be fine and then it kind of creeps back in - and then there I am, slurping it down like it's going out of style. This time around, it doesn't even taste good, but I LOVE the carbonation - especially on a hot summer day. And nothing seems go to better with a little spiced rum then a cold Coke.

On a previous cola withdrawl, I gave up Diet Coke - my liquid of life. I used to pop a can as soon as I got out of bed - it was my coffee. And it was diet, so I could drink as much as I wanted - or so I thought. But I never felt good. My stomach would bother me often and my acid reflux was flared up all the time. I had no energy, was overweight and bloated (although I didn't realize that until I gave it up.) So I decided to quit drinking pop. I did great for 2 months, dropped about 5 pounds and started feeling better. But then out with friends and ordered a Coke - it just sounded good. And that was it - back down that road. Only this time I told myself to drink regular Coke so that my body could process the sugar and I would be more aware of the calories. Sounded great. 1 can a day.

I don't know who I thought I was kidding. With the heat this summer, my limit has expanded itself. Honestly it still doesn't taste good - I am addicted to the carbonation I think. Love the cold bubbles on a hot day. Looking back over the summer, I realize that although I have worked my butt off biking and at the gym, chugging a can or two of Coke a day has not helped me one bit.

So here we are - 44 hours in. I told my daughter she had to watch me  as we were home all day cleaning. After lunch is when I love to grab a can. So far so good though. Lots of water and unsweetened ice tea. I think this time around I can be successful. I know what I am in for. I know what my pitfalls are. I watched Extreme Makeover Weight Loss edition the other night and saw how much sugar that gal consumed in her pop and it was a huge turnoff.

And as happens so often along my NEW journey, I find myself questioning my behavior. Why am I addicted to pop? Of course I am so glad that I am not addicted to anything worse - but what is it in me that craves those bubbles??? I also wonder why I can push myself to try new workouts and dedicate myself to working out every day but I can't resist a can of pop. Why is that my weakness?? I am sure there is a reason - and honestly only God knows - but I would love to know why and how it figures into His plan for my life.

I am continually amazed at how many things have changed for the good on my NEW journey. I have always loved vegetables but not always made the concious effort to prepare them for my meal. These days we eat a lot of fresh produce from our garden - I love that. The kids and I DO NOT whip thru McDonalds drive thru every Sunday after church anymore. We come home and fix lunch. Chips (another weakness) are only purchased for special occasions and fruits and nuts are the snacks of choice these day. I feel that I am on the right track. I just have to stay that way.

I will admit that I am still frustrated with my lack of dramatic weight loss. It is coming - slowly but surely - I just wish it was a little faster. I realize that I didn't put it all on overnight so I can't expect it to come off that quickly either. But I would so love to be in the next size down with the next month. And I have told myself that I will be. I have spent the last 4 days coming up with new workouts to SHAKE things up again and hopefully jump start that weight loss. I spent a lot of time biking this summer - which is incredible - almost 1000 miles since May. But it has become a routine exercise - yes my route changes and there are hills and other challenges but it isn't using my body very differently each time. So this weekend was about new weightlifting routines, more interval training and a lot more focus on what I was doing and why. I called it my own personal training session - and I didn't have to pay for it because it was me. I was drawing on the things I have read or seen and am starting to incorporate them into my new routines.

I am still using my workout times as my prime prayer time. My spiritual life continues to grow. I do feel more aware as to how God is using me in others lives although I still have to pray for some clear direction from time to time. He is an AWESOME God and I am so thankful to have realized how redirecting my focus to Him and His plan for me has helped on this journey.

44 hours and counting...... time to chug another glass of water and say that little prayer for the willpower to resist.